Skip to main content

Ocala Library History: Ocala Library History

MyCF Login for Library Resources

Log in to MyCF

MyCF

Click the Academics tab

Click the Search Library button

 

Need Help? Call a CF Librarian!

For assistance with locating or citing sources, call a CF Librarian:
352/854-2322 x1345.


A Librarian is generally available during the following regularly scheduled hours:

Fall and Spring

Monday-Thursday 7:30 am-9 pm
Friday 7:30 am-4:30 pm
Saturday 10 am-5 pm

Summer

Monday-Thursday 7:30 am-6 pm

Online Chat

Or you can chat with a librarian through Ask A Librarian. This service is available from 10:00 am to midnight, Sunday through Thursday (ET), and from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm Friday and Saturday (ET).

Email

You can also contact a CF Librarian by email at library@cf.edu.

Ocala Campus Library History

1958: Willa Boysworth, former Fulbright Scholar, joins CFJC staff as Head Librarian and later Director of Library Services. 

1958, August 8: Florida Statutes became the first official CFJC Library books cataloged. First Library collection consisted of 350 books. 

1958-1963: First Library in Administration Building (though not in the original construction plans). 

1962: Broke ground on Building 3 (literally the third building on campus). 

1962: Dedication ceremony with Governor Bryant giving speech on October 12 at 2:30 p.m. 

1963: Second Fulbright Scholar, and former American Library Association President, Dr. Frances Spain joins college staff as Director of Library Services. 

1966: Hampton Junior College Librarian, Willie Mae Cochran, joins CFJC library staff when colleges merge. 

1966-1967: Conversion of call numbers from Dewey Decimal to Library of Congress classification system completed. 

1968: Automated check-out system the Sysdac III introduced. 

1971, July 1: John Hulton, graduate of Harvard and Columbia Universities, becomes Library Director until his retirement in December 1987. 

1973: Second story (for faculty offices, classrooms and the Media Services area) added to Building 3. 

Mid-1980s: Citrus campus Library/Joint Use facility with Lecanto High School established. 

Mid-1980s: Scott Brown Wisdom Traditions and the Hartigan Equine Special Collections are established. 

1988: Automation process begins with the catalog record cleanup project. 

1989: College Center for Library Automation is established to run LINCC (Library Information Network for Community Colleges) the community college statewide online catalog. 

Early 1990s: CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) and Infotrac become first automated (non-print) periodical indexes at the CF Library. 

1993: Another renovation is complete. The 1st floor reading room (and the book collection) is moved to the second floor and the “Skills Lab” (now the Learning Support Center Lab) moves into the new addition. 

1994, March: CF’s LINCC catalog goes “live.” 

1995, April: Said “good-bye” to the card catalog. 

1997: LIS1002 Introduction to Internet Research (now LIS2004 online) taught by librarians for the first time. 

Early-2000s: Internet-based LINCCWeb replaces original LINCC stand alone stations. 

2001, September: Joanne Bellovin joins staff as new Library Director and later Dean of Learning Resources (encompassing the Library, several campus labs including the Learning Support Center lab, Distance Learning and the Professional Development office). 

2004: Building 3 named in honor of Congressman Clifford B. Stearns. 

2010: Today’s Library collection consists of: 67000 books, 30,000+ eBooks, 7000 videos/DVDs and 103 LINCCWeb databases indexing 45,212 periodical titles. 

2013, Fall: Library's new "web presence" launched when the Library Search "discovery tool" replaces LINCCWeb and LibGuides goes live.

2014: Teresa Faust becomes Library Director and Dr. Rayanne Giddes is new Dean.

2014, Fall: Today's Library collection consists of: 70,000 books, 82 magazines, journals and newspapers, 3,000 DVDs and videos, thousands of streaming videos, 70 full-text article databases accessing millions of full-text articles from over 44,000 electronic journal and magazine titles, and 11 eBook databases accessing thousands of electronic books.

All facts and dates gleaned from oral histories of the library, college newspaper articles (Patriot Press and Campus Traveler) and CF college catalogs.

Faculty Librarian and Professor

Susan Bradshaw's picture
Susan Bradshaw
Contact:
Susan Bradshaw | College of Central Florida
Faculty Librarian, Professor, Library Instruction Coordinator
Clifford B. Stearns Library/Learning Resources Center
3001 S.W. College Road | Ocala, FL 34474-4415
352-854-2322, ext. 1342

Ask A Librarian