Skip to main content

Special Collections: Special Collections

Information about the Special Collections located in the Clifford B. Stearns Learning Resources Center.

MyCF Login for Library Resources

Log in to MyCF

MyCF

Click the Academics tab

Click the Search Library button

 

Need Help? Call a CF Librarian!

For assistance with locating or citing sources, call a CF Librarian at 352/854-2322 x1345.

A Librarian will be available during the following regularly scheduled hours:

Fall and Spring

Monday-Thursday 7:30 am-9 pm
Friday 7:30 am-4:30 pm
Saturday 10 am-5 pm

Summer

Monday-Thursday
7:30 am-6 pm

Online Chat

Or you can chat with a librarian through Ask A Librarian. This service is available from 10:00 am to midnight, Sunday through Thursday (ET), and from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm Friday and Saturday (ET).

Email

You can also contact a CF Librarian by email at library@cf.edu.

CF Special Collections

The CF Library Special Collections are an eclectic collection of books, videos and memorabilia on a wide variety of subjects including Florida folk music, architecture, horses, wisdom traditions and cancer research. The Library’s special collections are located in either the Special Collections room, 3-103, on the first floor across from the Circulation Area or upstairs in the regular collection. About seventy percent of the book collections are available for check-out for three weeks with a valid student ID or Community Borrower card. If an item is in the locked cabinets in the Special Collections room, please see a Library staff member for access. Most items in the locked cabinets are accessible for research but not available for check-out.

The CF Library Special Collections include the following:

The most recent collection, the Clifford B. Stearns collection, was donated in 2013, and contains items of significance from the Honorable Mr. Cliff Stearns' Congressional career.
.

The Hartigan Equine collection
, established in 1986 in memory of John and Sandy Hartigan, well-known Ocala horse farmers, and shelved on the 2nd floor, south side in the SF section, is the oldest special collections in the CF Library.


The Scott Brown Wisdom Traditions collection, established in 1989 by Scott Brown’s parents, in memory of their son, a CF student who passed away in 1988, is housed in the Special Collections room.

The Ocala Royal Dames Cancer Research collection, established in 2002 in memory of Theresa Castro, is shelved on the 2nd floor, south side in the RC section.

The Will McLean Florida Folk Music collection was donated by Margaret Longhill, the president of the Will McLean Foundation, to honor Florida’s Troubadour and is housed in the Special Collections room.

The Warren and Judith Kaplan Film Library contains about 160 titles and is housed in the Special Collections room.

The Manny Abraben Architecture collection was donated in 2010 and is also housed in the Special Collections room.

Faculty Librarian and Professor

Susan Bradshaw's picture
Susan Bradshaw
Contact:
Susan Bradshaw | College of Central Florida
Faculty Librarian, Professor, Library Instruction Coordinator
Clifford B. Stearns Library/Learning Resources Center
3001 S.W. College Road | Ocala, FL 34474-4415
352-854-2322, ext. 1342

Ask A Librarian